Ruckstell axle

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
BobShirleyAtlantaTx
First Name: Bob
Last Name: Shirley
MTFCA Number: 29135

Ruckstell axle

Post by BobShirleyAtlantaTx » Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:42 am

This Northeast part of Texas is pretty flat, and hotter than he!! this time of year, but that’s a different story. I’ve been driving T’s for 56 years, but this is my first running, driving car with a Ruckstell. My question is do you guys shift your axels in normal, non hill driving?

KWTownsend
First Name: Keith
Last Name: Townsend
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: late 1911 touring, 1915 runabout, 1919 touring, brass speedster
MTFCA Number: 14778
MTFCA Life Member: YES
MTFCI Number: 16305
Board Member Since: 1999

Re: Ruckstell axle

Post by KWTownsend » Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:58 am

Bob,
Here in the Pacific Northwest we have lots of mountains and I have Ruckstells in all of my cars.
I always start in low and Ruckstell low. Then shift into high still in Ruckstell low. Finally, high and Ruckstell high.
I will use low gear in Ruckstell high if I am starting from a complete stop, but headed down hill, and go through all four combinations only if I am going up a steep hill and starting from a complete stop.
Use the same gear combination going down a hill as you use going up the hill.
I always shift in the Ruckstell low when coming to a stop.

Love my Ruckstells.

Bill Robinson
First Name: Bill
Last Name: Robinson
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '21 Depot Hack, '25 Touring Car, '26 Roadster Pickup, '27 Tudor, & another '27 Tudor
MTFCA Number: 22487
MTFCI Number: 17887
Board Member Since: 1999

Post by Bill Robinson » Mon Jun 14, 2021 10:17 am