Question on TT cruising speeds

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
JohnB48
First Name: John
Last Name: Bargerhuff
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: none yet but I'm looking

Question on TT cruising speeds

Post by JohnB48 » Sat Jul 17, 2021 8:08 am

Hey everyone! Model T newbie here with an easy question for you all. I'm looking for a good first T and I've come across a very nice '24 TT stake bed truck. I've been reading what I can find about TT's and have seen a couple of statements that make me curious. First was a blurb that said the TT chassis was 900 pounds heavier than the standard T? I know, heavier axle and wheels, & longer chassis, but 900 pounds? Second, and more important- do all TT's have the same lower gearing? And how much does this reduce your cruising speed?
I'm asking because I just attended last month's open house- my first MTFCA event. I really enjoyed it, especially Friday's tour. A very nice young man gave me a ride in his depot hack and we were making great time until we experienced an unfortunate navigational error (sorry Rod). Anyways, I don't want to spend the rest of my life being tail end Charlie, with everyone waiting for me to catch up (I already provide that service on group bicycle rides). So can your average TT trucks keep up with the pack on group tours?

Henry K. Lee
First Name: Henry
Last Name: Lee
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: Many
MTFCA Number: 479
MTFCA Life Member: YES

Re: Question on TT cruising speeds

Post by Henry K. Lee » Sat Jul 17, 2021 8:13 am

John,

A 5 to 1 rear end will impress you as I found out years back. Could get up and cruise at 34 mph all day long.

Hope this helps,

Hank

TXGOAT2
First Name: Pat
Last Name: McNallen
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926-7 roadster
MTFCA Number: 51486