Introduction: New to the group, from Paris Ontario

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Flivver
First Name: Steven
Last Name: Park
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 runabout

Introduction: New to the group, from Paris Ontario

Post by Flivver » Sat Jul 17, 2021 9:52 pm

I am new to the Model T community, having only just recovered my late father’s 1926 Runabout from a barn where it was stored. I've been reading this forum voraciously and learning a lot! But I have a lot more to learn in the coming months and years.

My goal this summer is to get her mechanically sound and on the road. It would be nice to do a few short tours before winter, to get a feel for her. Then I can tackle some of the more major projects over the winter.

I live in beautiful Paris Ontario Canada. I invite you to follow my journey here, and on Facebook and Instagram @flivverchannel

Thanks in advance for your patience with my many questions and inquiries.
1926 Runabout Barn.jpg

Scott_Conger
First Name: Scott
Last Name: Conger
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: '13, '15, '19, '23
Board Member Since: 2005

Re: Introduction: New to the group, from Paris Ontario

Post by Scott_Conger » Sat Jul 17, 2021 10:10 pm

Hello Steven

nice looking car...condolences on how you acquired it

two things you must NOT DO:

don't pull the starter without first removing the bendix from the end of it (or you'll destroy the internal magneto ring)
don't run the car without the generator hooked up to the battery by way of a functioning cutout (or voltage regulator)

1 thing you MUST do:

buy the T-1 "bible" from any supplier and refer to it prior to any kind of work...all other advice is embellishment beyond the instructions found therein

welcome to the affliction and be sure to have fun
Scott Conger