Anyone have Seatbelts in your T

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Model T Ron
First Name: Ronald
Last Name: Bakow
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1915 Model T Touring
MTFCI Number: 25350

Anyone have Seatbelts in your T

Post by Model T Ron » Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:13 pm

Hey Everyone
I have seatbelts in my 1929 A but am not sure if I should put them in my 1915 Touring car. What are your thoughts on seatbelts in a T?

Thanks
Ron

Burger in Spokane
First Name: Brent
Last Name: Burger
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 TT closed cab flatbed
Board Member Since: 2014

Re: Anyone have Seatbelts in your T

Post by Burger in Spokane » Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:33 pm

When I was an EMT, I went out on a call where 2 women and 5 kids were balled
up in what had been a Chevette, after they pulled out on the highway in front of
a semi. It was Donesville for everyone in the car, but what was really amazing was
the following outcry by the news and other stupid people about wearing seatbelts.
This would be like suggesting that wearing a hardhat will save you as you step in
front of a speeding train.

Some situations just do not compute for certain safety practices, and I am kinda
thinking that seatbelts (tied to WHAT ?) in a Model T is a waste of time and an exercise
in pointlessness. Better to invest one's time in thinking about how to avoid a crash
in the first place and how to take evasive measures, should someone else bring the
problem TO you. Once impact has occurred, the odds are against us for any sort of
"good" outcome. With some things, you just accept the risk that comes with the fun
and take appropriate precautions.

KDgators1.jpg
KDgators1.jpg (31.2 KiB) Viewed 3591 times
More people are doing it today than ever before !

Henry K. Lee
First Name: Henry