TH400 clutch disks

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Kevin Pharis
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Pharis

TH400 clutch disks

Post by Kevin Pharis » Tue Oct 26, 2021 12:49 am

There is a fella in the classifieds looking to buy a TH400 clutch conversion, and he is getting a bunch of naysayer responses. I have been abusing a TH400 clutch set for 10+ years in my speedster, and another set before that for at least 5. Never had an issue... but others report repeated failures...?! What say you...?

Engine modifications and body styles provide a sense of load that the clutch experienced. Did you check the clutch spring pressure? How many friction discs were used? What TH400 friction lining did you use? Did you use new steel disks? What was the condition of the clutch hub/drum lug surfaces? What did the “burned” friction disks look like when removed? What did the steels look like when removed?

Kerry
First Name: Frank
Last Name: van Ekeren
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1916 touring, 1916 pick-up, 1924 coupe, 1926 touring, 1927 touring

Re: TH400 clutch disks

Post by Kerry » Tue Oct 26, 2021 1:41 am

As a engine builder at my end of the world, I only fit the 400 or watts/jack rabbit, never had a failure yet. The only answer to a failure is simple, the owners have not been instructed on how to drive a Model T correctly. :o Some Utube posts with the titles of how to drive a Model T is a sure testament to back up what I say.

Alan Long
First Name: Alan
Last Name: Long
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1910 Canadian Touring Car and 1926 Australian built Utility

Post by Alan Long » Tue Oct 26, 2021 4:25 am

Never had a failure with either of our three Model T’s with the Turbo 400 Plates with the oldest installed in 2004.