New Member and Owner..Some Questions!

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Guardian1fox2
First Name: Jacob
Last Name: Fox
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1923 Speedster (in progress)
MTFCA Number: 52087

New Member and Owner..Some Questions!

Post by Guardian1fox2 » Fri Mar 04, 2022 10:23 pm

Hello everyone!

I picked up my first model T today, and I’m completely new to everything about them. I’ve been told it’s a 1925, however the model is unknown. All that’s there really is a cowl from what I’m guessing was the original car.

I was told the previous owner had it, and rebuilt the engine etc; and had got it running; however he passed away and it’s been sitting ever since and was told right before he passed it wouldn’t start and it was believed to be a coil issue…boy this is gonna be a rabbit hole I feel! Lol He had put what looks like a 30s truck bed on the back, installed new gas tank, and painted various things. Turned the motor by hand and it turns easy. Radiator was empty, and it was on jack stands.

What I found interesting was it has the Hassler Springs installed in the front, and new wood spokes on the wheels. Looking under the car I also noticed what looked like the aftermarket “oiler” where the line runs to the top of the tranny cover. The 4 coils are there, however the wood looks dried out, they seem to be new reproductions but surface rust has started to form on the tops. The spark plugs I don’t think are original or right, there’s 4 different ones and screwed in at various depths. Gonna take some Kroil and let it soak for a while before attempting to take them out. The wiring also looks new.

I guess my questions are these: