No connections between steering column and carb or spark advance problem?

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
Dave_Kriegel
First Name: David
Last Name: Kriegel
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1927 1926
MTFCA Number: 52627
Board Member Since: 1999

No connections between steering column and carb or spark advance problem?

Post by Dave_Kriegel » Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:15 am

I have been working on Model T's for 20 years and still only know a little bit about these great cars This forum and the little black book have taught me a great deal ! I am fixing one that has no connecting control rods between the spark advance and carb control rods on the steering column There are no connecting pieces on either of the rods! It appears someone either removed them or put the column in upside down. Therefore no control over carb or spark advance

My question is does anyone make a connection piece(s) I can fit to the rods so I can then connect the connecting rods to the spark advance and carb ?
It appears at the factory these were slipped over the rod as a unit I would prefer not to take the steering column out . Probably easy just something I have not yet done Basically any suggestions on how to fix this problem

This car a 2 seater has the convertible top frame so I also need to learn to mount the fabric top to the back bottom rail Always some new skill to learn

THANK YOU RAJORACER for your reply These are the parts I thing I need to mount to proper rods connecting the commutator and carb !!

https://www.modeltford.com/item/6297.aspx
Last edited by Dave_Kriegel on Mon Jun 27, 2022 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mark Nunn
First Name: Mark
Last Name: Nunn
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 Runabout
MTFCA Number: 50321
Board Member Since: 2017