Engine turn off after a short drive.

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
keevge
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Hitzler
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1924 Touring

Engine turn off after a short drive.

Post by keevge » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:04 pm

Hi,
at first I have to apologize for the bad English.
I'm a German mechanic and since September I own a 1924 Model T Touring.

It's awesome to own and drive this car, a almost 100 years old car.

But that's not the point of the Post.

After I get the Car, I checked the Oil level, changed the Fuel and watch some "How to start" videos.
Then I tried to start and the engine started perfectly after only 1 second cranking with the e-starter.

The engine starts always as good as this.

But after I drive a small tour, less then a mile, the engine startet to (I don't know the correct word) "spit", as if the engine gets no fuel.
Then the engine turned off and every try to restart it fails.
After 2 or 3 Hours the Car will start again, without any issue.

While the drive I got the feeling that the engine do not have the full power.
The engine has not enough power to get in higher rpm in the fast-gear.

I've already cleaned the Carburetor, changed the Fuel, changed the spark plugs.

I hope someone can understand, what i tried to explain and got an idea what's Wrong with this beautiful Car.

Steve Jelf
First Name: Steve
Last Name: Jelf
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1923 touring and a few projects
MTFCA Number: 16175
MTFCI Number: 14758
Board Member Since: 2007

Re: Engine turn off after a short drive.

Post by Steve Jelf » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:17 pm