Jtray26
First Name: Tyler
Last Name: Ray
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1916 runabout
MTFCA Number: 50192
Board Member Since: 2018

WTB good spring perches and wishbone

Post by Jtray26 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:01 am

This is my first attempt at posting on the new forum...Here goes! We’ve started restoring the ‘16 runabout. I’m going to try to put together a chronical on the other forum when I get time. The front axle appears to be original, and it is in very good condition. But, it has at some point over the years been “converted” to an under mount wishbone. They used the original spindles and spindle arms, so clearance between the tie rod and wishbone was tight! I suppose they broke a spring perch at some point and improvised. Anyway, I’m in need of a good set of over mount spring perches and a proper wishbone. Anybody have a spare they would part with?

Ruxstel24
First Name: Dave
Last Name: Hanlon
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 24 Touring car
MTFCA Number: 50191

Re: WTB good spring perches and wishbone

Post by Ruxstel24 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:15 pm

Hi Tyler, welcome !!
I probably have what you need.
You do realize that it's a lot safer to run a later wishbone that mounts under the axle.
Unless you have to have originality, I would keep what you have and make the steering linkage clear.
Some people run the upper mount style and add another underneath...
Dave

Topic author
Jtray26

Post by Jtray26 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:48 pm